Ryan Taylor Scores Port Career Second In Sprints, Wagner In Late Models and Towsey In Pro Stocks


Port Royal – Ryan Taylor of Perkasie led all 25 laps to record his second career 410 sprint car win at Port Royal Speedway Saturday night in the second race of the season for the division at the track. 

The first appearance of the season by the late models saw Waylon Wagner score the victory while Brian Towsey was awarded the win in the 15-lap pro stock main. 

The sprint car feature got off to a rough start initially when eighth starter Todd Shaffer got sideways in the second corner and flipped along with Daryn Pittman.  Also involved was Chad Layton and John Brennfleck however there were no injuries.

Taylor held sway the entire way over Mark Smith of Tower City, who started on the pole. 

Even with numerous restarts, Smith was never able to seriously challenge Taylor’s fleet-running white and green racer although Smith himself was challenged throughout the event by fourth starter Lance Dewease.

Mike Erdley tried putting a third turn move on Dewease with four away and spun to bring out the first of many yellows. 

After several more cautions it was still Taylor leading the way over Smith and Dewease with just three laps to go when the red flag appeared for fourth-place runner Tyler Walker who had pulled pitside moments earlier under his own power, but with a leg injury.    

Walker was transported by emergency crews to a nearby hospital for treatment. 

The final three circuit were all Taylor to the finish as he pulled away on the final restart just as he had every time before. 

Smith was second followed by Dewease, Rick Lafferty and Steve Buckwalter.

Sixth through 10th went to a rebounding Erdley, Mike Wagner, Cliff Brian, Ed Aiken and Brennfleck.

Heats for the 23-car field went to Shaffer and Buckwalter. 

Polesitter Andy Haus was leading the field with four away in the 20-lap late model main with Tim Wilson and Jeff Rine close behind in hot pursuit when he got somewhat sideways racing off of the fourth corner.

As he headed down the fronstretch, both Rine and Wilson tried to split Haus’ rebounding racer only to make contact with the leader as the pair tried to take control themselves.

The end result was an ugly red flag incident with hard contact forcing both Rine and Haus from the event and handing the lead over to four-time 2010 winner Wagner.

And Wagner was happy to take control as once in front, he ran the position all the way to the checkers although Mitch Hack gave him little breathing room over the final two circuits. 

In fact, Hack tried taking the lead on the final lap only to watch Wagner close the door in turn four to preserve the victory. 

Hack was second followed by Tim Gray, Scott  Haus and Bryon Sipe.

Sixth through 10th went to Rick Singleton, Scott Flickinger, Mike Mort, Tim Fedder and Garrett Gray. 

Heats for the 25-car field went to Rine, Hack and Matt Parks. 

After starting 11th, Towsey was awarded the win in the pro stock main after Dave Bowsman failed to make weight in post-race inspection.

Defending track champion John Heane led early before contact between he and Bowsman saw Heane spin out of the lead.

Bowsman did lead the rest of the way with Towsey originally crossing the line second.

With Towsey declared the winner, second went to Dan Berry followed by Jason Davis, Harold Ranck and Heane.

Sixth through 10th went to Devin Frye, Lucas Bryner, Nate Fisher, Adam Imes and Greg Scott. 

Port Royal returns to action Saturday, April 9 with 410 sprints, late models, pro stocks and an enduro dash at 7 PM. 

April 2, 2011 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Ryan Taylor, 2. Mark Smith, 3. Lance Dewease, 4. Rick Lafferty, 5. Steve Buckwalter, 6. Mike Erdley, 7. Mike Wagner, 8. Cliff Brian, 9. Ed Aiken, 10. John Brennfleck, 11. Justin Henderson, 12. Brian Ehrenzeller, 13. Tyler Walker, 14. Nicole Bower, 15. Charlie Anderson, 16. Joey Hershey, 17. Jack Thornton, 18. Todd Shaffer, 19. Chad Layton. 20. Lynton Jeffrey , 21. Dayrn Pittman, 22. Davey Sammons, 23. Keith Kauffman

Late Models, 20 laps: 1. Waylon Wagner, 2. Mitch Hack, 3. Tim Gray, 4. Scott Haus, 5. Bryon Sipe, 6. Rick Singleton, 7. Scott Flickinger, 8. Mike Mort, 9. Tim Fedder, 10. Garrett Gray, 11. Tim Wilson, 12. Denny Fenton, 13. Andy Haus, 14. Jeff Rine, 15. Matt Parks, 16. Herm Renninger, 17. Jeff Smith, 18. Derrick Casner, 19. Terry Naugle, 20. Bob Dunn, 21. Derrick Byler, 22. Mike Lupfer, 23. Bud Barton, 24. Patrick Bryner, 25. Gary Beward. 

Pro Stocks, 15 laps: 1. Brian Towsey, 2. Dan Berry, 3. Jason Davis, 4. Harold Ranck, 5. John Heane, 6. Devin Frye, 7. Lucas Bryner, 8. Nate Fisher, 9. Adam Imes, 10. Greg Scott, 11. Scott Landis, 12. Derick Garman, 13. Josh Angle, 14. Tony Stoner, 15. Brad Mitch