Kids Night July 9 Features Sprints, Late Models and Pro Stocks, hundreds of prizes and bicycle racing for the kids


Port Royal – Port Royal Speedway will present Kids Night this Saturday, July 9 with racing including the premier divisions in the area, 410 sprints and late models along with pro stocks, slated for 7:30 PM.

From the time gates open at 5:30 PM, kids ages 0 – 12 will be offered the chance to take home hundreds of special prizes that will be awarded based on chance tickets and given away on a first come, first serve basis.

Just some of the prizes up for grabs include slip & slides, dvd players, mp3 players, bicycles, board games, building block sets and much more.  Youngsters must be accompanied by an adult in order to register for prize tickets and claim their prizes.

Bicycle races will also be held for kids ages 0 – 12 following the completion of all qualifying events.  Big Wheel and Power Wheels races for ages 0 – 5 will also be held.  All youngsters wishing to compete in the youth races must have a helmet or they will not be permitted to join in the fun. 

Area businesses contributing to Kids Night 2011 include: Barnes Body Shop, Frontz Hardwood Flooring, William Crim, DDS.; Impressions Printing, Glenn Love Insurance Agency, Cocolamus Creek Disposal, Carol’s Notary Service, Jack Gaughen Hower and Associates, Zimmerman Truck Lines, VFW Post 5863, Gridiron Pub, RE Davidson and Sons, Juniata Valley Bank, McWilliams Well Drilling, Rickenbaugh Building Supply, Tanning Cabana, Ramseys Garage, AB Autoglass, Berry’s Personal Care, Miller’s Tree Service, Miller-Gentry CPA’s, Steve’s Used Cars, Mike Cleck Paving, District Attorney Cory Snook, Burger King, McDonalds and numerous race drivers and teams from all Port Royal divisions. 

Tyler Walker won the last regular show contested at Port Royal for the Aumiller’s Insurance 410 sprints on June 18.  Since then, Greg Hodnett and Justin Henderson have each won PA Speedweek events at the track, becoming the only drivers to win more than once at the speedplant this season. 

Gary Beward has been the only driver able to win more than once in AB Auto Glass late model action this season, taking his third of the year just this week.

Miller’s Auto Parts pro stock pilot Brian Towsey has been the only man to repeat in his division action, also holding a trio of wins to date.