Port Royal Speedway And All Stars Honor Bob Weikert This Saturday

Port Royal – The Saturday, April 28, All Star Circuit of Champions Sprints Bob Weikert Memorial at Port Royal Speedway will be yet another chance for the traveling band to attempt to break into the famed winner’s circle at the historic oval.

The 30-lap Weikert Memorial offers $10,000 to win,  $100 to the leader of every lap and $500 just to start. 

No bona fide All Star has ever been able to break through at the Juniata County oval, although a host has made it inside the top-five. 

Among those All Stars lucky enough to taste the front at the Port have been: Joe Gaerte, Joey Saldana, Kenny Jacobs, Dale Blaney, Kevin Huntley, Frankie Kerr, Dean Jacobs, Paul McMahan, Danny Smith and Greg Wilson. 


This season, the traveling band is expected to bring perennial All Stars kingpins Tim Shaffer and Dale Blaney to the oval along with Pete Miller, III., Cap Henry, Paul McMahan and others such as Stevie Smith and Sam Hafertepe Jr.  Wooster, Ohio’s Jac Haudenschild is also expected to compete. 

The man the All Stars and the rest of the field will be honoring when they compete Saturday needs no introduction to sprint car or Port Royal fans, past or present. 

Bob Weikert went down in history as one of the most prolific sprint car owners the nation or world has ever seen. 

His famed red, white and blue Weikert’s Livestock No. 29 sprinter along with some numbered 91 and 92 at times during his decades long career is and was one of the most iconic machines the sport has ever witnessed. 

As were his fabulous Beef Night promotions at area speedways during the decade of the 1990’s. 

It is Weikert’s contributions to the sport, both on track and off, that the Weikert Memorial is meant to honor. 

Weikert last saw his mount raced to victory lane at Port Royal back in May of 1994 when Len Krautheim III, of Penns Creek put it there. 

The one and only track title his car was able to garner at Port Royal came in 1981 with Keith Kauffman of Mifflintown behind the wheel. 

His cars picked up numerous wins in high profile events at the speedway over the years including five in the Tuscarora 50, three on Labor Day and one over the World of Outlaws with driver Doug Wolfgang in 1987. 

Ironically, Weikert’s last win anywhere as a car owner anywhere came over the All Stars in 1997 with Hermitage chauffeur Mike Lutz at the helm.

Previous winners of the Bob Weikert Memorial at Port Royal Speedway are: Fred Rahmer, 2003, 2004; Todd Shaffer, 2005; Lance Dewease, 2006; Greg Hodnett, 2007, 2011; Jeff Shepard, 2008; and Stevie Smith, 2009.  The 2010 event was lost due to weather. 

 Gates for Saturday’s $10,000 to win, $100 to lead a lap, 30-lap All Star Bob Weikert Memorial open at 5 PM with time trials slated for 7.  Adult General Admission is $20.00 with students admitted for just $5.00. 

A sweep by the winner of all 30-laps plus fast time would garner more than $13,000.  

Weikert Memorial Lap and Associate Sponsors: Weikerts Livestock, Fairfield PA; Virginia Cattle Compay, Moorefield WV; Hickory Bridge Farms, Orrtanna PA; Folkens Brothers Hauling, Lester IA; Roadcap Livestock, Quicksburg VA; Highland Farms, Gettysburg PA; Scott’s Body Shop, Gettysburg PA; South Branch Livestock Exchange, Moorefield WV; Craig Livestock Market, Shippensburg PA; Nicholas Packing, Loganton PA; Joel Stein Show horses, Fairfield PA; Weiss Transport, Adrian MN; Upper Marsh Creek, Orrtanna PA; Miller & Associates Real Estate LLC, Gettysburg PA; Virginia Livestock Inc, Front Royal VA (2 Laps); Greencastle Livestock Market, Greencastle PA; Stan’s Beverage, Carlisle PA; Antelope Springs Ranch, Blackwell TX; Steven K Bierly Trucking, Mill Hall PA; Mike Vis, Valley Springs, SD; Seth Snyder, Gettysburg PA; Omaha Commodities, Omaha NE; JB Cattle LLC, Biglerville PA.