2012 Founders Awards To Regester And Felty At June 9 EMMR/Penn Central Reunion USAC Show

Port Royal – Port Royal Speedway will honor two of its founding legends of the sport with the 2012 Founders Awards slated to be presented as part of EMMR/Penn Central Racing Reunion Night on Saturday, June 9 at 7 pm when the USAC sprint cars will compete. 

Honored this year will be the winningest sprint and super modified car owner of all time at the speedway, Mr. John Regester, who owns 89 wins at the track with drivers like Pete Swarmer, Dick Tobias, Ray Tilley and Mitch Smith in his seat. 

Legendary driver Leroy Felty will also be the recipient of a 2012 Founders Award.  Felty amassed 39 career Port Royal super modified and sprint wins at the track over the course of a career that spanned some 40 years. He took the 1968 track title at Port Royal and also owns five late model wins at the oval.

Regester started fielding cars in the early 1950’s and after drivers such as Harry Ulsh, Sonny Wagner and Luke Gotshall turned his wheel, Richard “Dick” “Pete” Swarmer hopped in the seat and took Regester’s first of 89 Port Royal wins in 1956. 

Other wins came with Tobias, Tilley and Smith through the 1968 season when Regester retired from the sport. Along the way Regester and Swarmer took titles in 1957 followed by Tobias in 1959 and 1960 and Smith in 1967.

Felty took his first win at the track in 1954 when the super modifieds were in their prime and made the transition to sprint cars when they took over in the late 1960’s. 

Along the way Felty drove such famed machines as the Carl Tice 4Aces, Elwood Mohler No. 17, Yetter Chevrolet No. 3, Flying Tiger No. 46, Bill Gettle No. 77, Hackenberg Chevrolet No. 7 and his own Velvet Jet No. 7.  

Four restored Felty cars including his 4Aces and his Velvet Jet No. 17 will be on display for the event. 

Both Mr. Regester and Mr. Felty will be on hand for the presentations and night’s racing and reunion events. 

Gates for the event will open at 7 pm.