URC Sprints Featured In Port Royal Open Wheel Madness August 25, 410, URC & 305 Sprints On Tap, First URC Show At Port In 45 Years

Port Royal – An open wheel extravaganza featuring 410, URC 358/360, and 305 sprint cars is on tap at Port Royal Speedway this Saturday, August 25 at 7 pm when the track presents Open Wheel Madness. 

The appearance by the URC Sprints at the track will be the first of its kind since the circuit last visited the oval back in 1967. 

The 1967 show was the only appearance by the URC circuit in its now 65-year history at the equally historic track. 

New York driver Earl Halaquist, a URC champion, scored the Port Royal show back in 1967.

All area 358 sprint teams will be eligible to compete with the URC 360 sprints in the Port show this week.

The URC feature will pay $2,000 to win and $200 to start the event. 

The regular 410 sprint cars will also be featured in a full program along with the 305 sprints.

Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove enters the event as the driver to beat to date in August, fresh off of his second win of the month on August 18.

Other Port 410 sprint winners so far this season have been Lance Dewease, Rick Lafferty, Tyler Walker, Chad Layton, Greg Hodnett and Ryan Taylor. 

Three appearances at the track this season by the 305 sprints have netted a trio of different winners including Kody Lehman, Mike Wagner, II., and Mark Watkins most recently. 

 Currently, New Jersey’s Davie Franek leads the URC point standings over Robbie Stillwaggon and Randy West. 

The URC appearance at the track will mark the return of area open wheel veteran Kramer Williamson of Palmyra to the track for competition for the first time in more years than most can remember.

Although a well-known area champion, Williamson has only garnered a pair of wins at the Juniata County oval, dating back to 1975 and 1978.   

URC winners to date this season include Mark Smith, Tony Stewart (2), Josh Weller, JJ Grasso, Ed Aikin (2), Ryan Bohlke, Kevin Darling, Blane Heimbach and Bobby Breen.

Adult general admission for the show is just $18 with students ages 12 – 18 admitted for just $5. 

Gates for the show will open at 5 pm with racing slated for 7.