Port Royal Honors Bestowed At Annual Banquet

(The 2012 Port Royal Speedway track champions honored on February 2 are (l to r) Jason Zook, enduros; John Heane, pro stocks; Tim Wilson, late models; and Chad Layton, 410 sprints.)

Port Royal – Port Royal Speedway crowned its 2012 track champions and honored its top point finishers on Saturday night at the annual awards banquet held at the Port Royal Community Building.

Picking up honors were the top five in the enduro dash division and the top 10 finishers in the pro stock, late model and sprint car divisions.

Champions in all divisions received a championship ring courtesy of Foss Jewelers of Lewistown and Mifflintown along with jackets from Goodyear (sprints), American Racer (late models) and Hoosier (pro stocks) tires along with Goshorn Racing Supplies (enduros).

Insinger Fuels presented personalized jackets to the sportsmanship drivers in each division.

Chad Layton accepted honors on his second career Port Royal 410 sprint track title aboard the Middleswarth No. 7.

Doug Esh was awarded the 2012 sportsmanship laurels in sprints while Nate Snyder earned Rookie of the Year honors.

Blane Heimbach picked up the sprint car Most Improved Driver award after finishing sixth in season points even after missing four shows during the year Heimbach had an average finish of sixth in his 17 appearances at the track in 2012.</>

Tim Wilson recorded the late model track title by just five points over Brett Schadel. Wilson finished in the top 10 in all 14 shows he entered at the track in 2012.

The late model sportsmanship laurels went to the third place driver in the late model points, Mike Lupfer.

Schadel took home Most Improved honors with a 5.5 average event finish in the 14 shows he raced in.

Trent Brenneman scored Rookie of the Year late model honors, finishing just outside the top 10 in season points.

John Heane was feted as the pro stock track titlist after scoring a top 10 finish in all 13 shows he competed in during 2012.

The Insinger sportsmanship award jacket went to Nate Fisher who was also fifth in points on the season.

Jason Zook took home bragging rights in the enduro division after three wins in the
six races contested.

The Insinger sportsmanship enduro award went to Ryan Leister.

Long time pace truck supplier John Sheaffer Dodge of Mexico was honored for its
continued commitment to supplying the vehicle.

The stage is now set for the season opener at Port Royal Speedway in six weeks when
on March 16 a twin bill program of 410 and 358 sprint cars will be presented at 6