Port Royal Speedway Opens This Week, Practice Session Is March 21

Opener Offers 410 Sprints, Super Late Models and Xtreme Stocks Saturday – First 600 Fans Receive Free Sked Magnet From Juniata Beverage

Port Royal – Port Royal Speedway will present its 2014 season opener this Saturday, March 22 at 6 pm when it presents a three-division program of Aumiller’s Insurance 410 sprints, super late models and xtreme stocks.

Port Royal will also host a practice session on Friday night, March 21 from 6:30 to 9:30 pm.  The practice will be open to cars from any division currently slated on the 2014 schedule of events.   

The sprint cars will race for $3,300 to win in the 25-lap opening day main event on Saturday.

Lineups for all divisions will be set by draw with an inversion used to start the sprint and late model mains.

General admission gates will open at 4 pm for the March 22 lidlifter with practice laps planned for 5:30.  Adult admission will be just $15 for the show with students ages 12 – 18 always priced at just $5.

The first 600 general admission fans entering the speedway for the season opener will receive a free 2014 schedule magnet courtesy of Juniata Beverage, located along Rt. 75 near Port Royal.

Last year in the Port Royal opener on March 30, Dave Blaney invaded and picked up the sprint car win in an exciting performance in lapped traffic.  In the late model opener last season Hamburg’s Scott Haus scored his only win of the season at the track.

Names like Jan Opperman, Mitch Smith, Steve Smith, Dick Tobias, Jay Myers and many more have graced the winner’s circle at the first sprint race of the season at Port Royal Speedway.

No driver has accumulated more Port opener victories than driver Todd Shaffer of Millerstown.  Mr. Excitement took wins in 1995, 1996, 1997, 2006, 2007 and 2008.

Keith Kauffman, the all time winningest driver at the track but now retired, owns four openers, taking his first in 1981.

On the owner side, veterans Gary and Patty Beam share top billing as the most prolific Port Opening Day winners.

Beams had Todd Shaffer behind the wheel for wins in ’95, ’96, ’97, ’07 and ’08 while Joey Gravino won for the couple in 1989.

Famed owner Bob Weikert follows Beams closely with five wins having come with Kauffman in 1981 and 1993, Bobby Davis Jr. in 1983, Doug Wolfgang in 1986 and Jeff Swindell in 1991.

Owners John and Pee Wee Zemaitis have fielded the winning entry on four occasions with three different drivers.

Mark Smith doubled up for the team in 2004 and 2005.  Skip Jackson overcame the rain for a win in 2000 and Kevin Gobrecht began a whirlwind run of three victories within 24-hours by claiming an afternoon win at Port in 1999.

Port Royal will present another three-division program including the debut of the newly created Gray’s Auto & Towing 355 Econo-late Models.  The 410 sprints and super late models are also on the agenda.

Stay up to date with all Port Royal news and events by visiting the oval’s official website at www.portroyalspeedway.com.