Friese Claims Port Royal UFO Late Model Landing, Hodnett Gets Four In Sprints, Troy Miller get econo late models

Port Royal – Devin Friese of Chambersburg became the third and final leader in Saturday night’s 35-lap UFO super late model main event at Port Royal Speedway to record his first career oval victory, worth $3,000.

In the 25-lap 410 sprint car main it was Greg Hodnett inheriting the lead to go on and claim his fourth Port Royal checkers of the season and in the econo late model feature Troy Miller took the win.

Dan Stone and Port Royal point leader Mike Lupfer shared the front row for the start of the UFO feature event and Lupfer took the lead on the first circuit.

But Stone, who finished second a week ago, was stout around the top groove and motored by Lupfer for control on the third circuit.

And shortly after he got the lead and completed the lap, UFO point leader Mike Altobelli Jr. stopped on the track, unfurling the yellow flag.

Dylan Yoder had been on the move prior to the yellow, working up to third and challenging for second only to see the yellow force him back to fourth.

On the restart, Trent Brenneman applied considerable pressure to Stone for the lead, racing on his bumper a lane lower for two laps before Stone pulled away.

In the meantime, Yoder found Friese slipping by for third only to force him to re-pass him for the spot, which he did shortly after before running down Brenneman for second on the 17th tour.

Yoder took second and began slicing a half-second a lap off of Stone’s advantage and had him in the same corner when he suddenly lost power with 13 laps to go, handing second to Friese.

Friese pounced when action resumed, drawing to Stone’s inside as the pair rolled into turn one and Friese stuck with Stone deep into turn three and as the pair raced through the fourth corner, Stone slipped up over the cushion and relinquished the top spot.

Friese then pulled away to the finish to win by 2.080 seconds.

Jason Schmidt put together a good run to finish third followed by 11th starter Coleby Frye and Nick Dickson.

Sixth through 10th went to Matt Parks, Brett Schadel, Lupfer, Tim Smith Jr. and Justin Kann.

Heats for the 28-car field went to Yoder, Andy Haus and Frye with Dan Angelicchio taking the consolation race.

Tyler Bear led the first three laps of the sprint car main before Richfield’s Trenton Shaeffer took over.

Shaeffer’s pace was slowed moments later when Bear slowed to a stop, putting Brock Zearfoss into second.

Zearfoss challenged on the restart and chased Shaeffer for the next five laps before motoring by for the lead with nine away.

As Zearfoss passed Shaeffer for the lead, Shaeffer nearly looped the car but salvaged it however the lapse in timing allowed eighth starter Greg Hodnett to drive by.

At that point, Zearfoss began working traffic with Hodnett in tow and there was no room for error by Zearfoss with Hodnett lurking.

Thus Zearfoss went to the inside of Ed Aikin in an effort to put him a lap down in the first turn with 10 laps to go but the move resulted in contact between the pair, knocking Aikin up to the wall and to a stop while giving Zearfoss a right rear flat.

Hodnett inherited the lead by virtue of the circumstances and then had to hold off Lance Dewease on the restart.

Dewease stuck his nose under the new leader when action resumed and tried again in the third turn but once Hodnett got his momentum going he pulled away to the victory, his 40th at the oval.

Dewease rode home 1.134 seconds behind followed by Lucas Wolfe, Dylan Cisney and Shaeffer.

Sixth through 10th went to Logan Wagner, 20th starter Steve Buckwalter, Mike Erdley, Dave Ely and Mike Wagner.

Heats went to Shaeffer, Wolfe and Scott Wilson.

Fourth starter Shaun Miller of Tower City took the econo late model main over Andrew Yoder.

Yoder got by Harold Ranck for second at the halfway point of the 20 lap feature but came up short for the victory.

After starting 11th, Eric Irvin rode home third followed by Dave Leidy and Devin Hart.

Sixth through 10th went to Harold Ranck, Rod Stroup, Jason Nace, Tim Fedder and Jason Davis.

Heats went to Shaun Miller and Dave Leidy.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the tracks official website at or by following the oval on Facebook and Twitter.


Race Results:

Feature Finishes



410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Lance Dewease, 3. Lucas Wolfe, 4. Dylan Cisney, 5. Trenton Shaeffer, 6. Logan Wagner, 7. Steve Buckwalter, 8. Mike Erdley, 9. Dave Ely, 10. Mike Wagner, 11. Brock Zearfoss, 12. Nate Snyder, 13. Rick Lafferty, 14. Scott Wilson, 15. Daryl Stimeling, 16. Wayne Dadetto, 17. Joey Hershey, 18. Dave Hahn, 19. Karl Baker, 20. Ed Aikin, 21. Curt Stroup, 22. Tyler Bear



Late models, 35 laps: 1. Devin Friese, 2. Dan Stone, 3. Jason Schmidt, 4. Coleby Frye, 5. Nick Dickson, 6. Matt Parks, 7. Brett Schadel, 8. Mike Lupfer, 9. Tim Smith Jr., 10. Justin Kann, 11. Trent Brenneman, 12. Tim Wilson, 13. Dan Angelicchio, 14. Bryan Bernheisel, 15. Glenn Elliott, 16. Patrick Bryner, 17. Mitch Hack, 18. Andy Fries, 19. Mike Mort, 20. Dylan Yoder, 21. Waylon Wagner, 22. Mike Altobelli, 23. Larry Baer, 24. Andy Haus


DNQ: Scott Flickinger, Eric Zembower, Tim Murphy, Steve Bailor



355 econo late models, 20 laps: 1. Troy Miller, 2. Andrew Yoder, 3. Eric Irvin, 4. Dave Leidy, 5. Devin Hart, 6. Harold Ranck, 7. Rod Stroup, 8. Jason Nace, 9. Tim Fedder, 10. Jason Davis, 11. Jared Fulkroad, 12. Chase Bowsman, 13. Garrett Gray, 14. Curt Dunn, 15. Shaun Miller