2015 Port Royal Sprint Dream Race Wrap,  A Look At Format Top Money Earners Since 2012 Has Emerged

Port Royal – Thousands of dollars in contingency cash was paid out to the field in the ninth running of the Living Legends Dream Race for sprint cars at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night.

In the lap money category, Mike Erdley of Elizabethville came out on top, taking home $490 in proceeds while Brock Zearfoss was second at $410 followed closely by Aaron Ott at $400.

Other takers included Steve Buckwalter, $160; Dave Blaney, $140; Greg Hodnett, $120; Danny Dietrich, $120; Blane Heimbach, $90; Lance Dewease, $40; Lucas Wolfe, $20; and Pat Cannon, $20.

Hard charger awards in the semi features worth $100 each went to Dylan Cisney, who drove from 14th to fourth while Greg Hodnett picked up another with a showing of 11th to fourth.

The A Main hard charger worth $150 went to Lucas Wolfe after he motored from 21st to ninth at the finish.

Fast times for both semi mains valued at $100 each were scored by Pat Cannon and Danny Dietrich.

Trenton Scheaffer of Richfield received the fan voted 25th starting position in the Dream feature, valued at $350.

Scheaffer will also receive a complimentary set of Penske Shocks, valued at over $1,000.

As the fan’s choice to tag the feature, Scheaffer was eligible for a $1,000 bonus if he was able to drive into a top 10 finish however that cash went unclaimed.

Free engine dynos to the highest and lowest finishing Rider and Ott engines were also awarded in the A Main.

High finisher Danny Dietrich took the Ott certificate with Zearfoss earning the top Rider dyno.

On the low end it was Rick Lafferty scoring for Ott and Nicole Bower for Rider.

Since the current format for the prestigious Dream event began in 2012 featuring twin semi mains with full payouts along with a full purse A Main plus thousands in contingency money dispersed each year, a comprehensive top 10 money earners list has been determined for the big event.

The 2015 winner, Greg Hodnett has emerged as the most profitable pilot out of all top 10 finishers during the last four years.

Hodnett’s current four-year total including purse payouts and contingency cash stands at $19,940.

Second on the list is Ryan Taylor at $15,030 followed by Blane Heimbach at $14,760.

Brent Marks is fourth on the list with a total of $12,625, followed by: Aaron Ott, $12,100; Chad Layton, $8,980; Doug Esh, $5,620; Danny Dietrich, $5,220; Mike Erdley, $5,190; and Brock Zearfoss, $4,410.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the tracks official website at www.portroyalspeedway.com or by following the oval on Facebook and Twitter.