Sweet, Pittman And Schatz Score Outlaws Sweep At To End Port Royal Season  Dan Davies wins area debut of Mid Atlantic Modifieds

Port Royal – Brad Sweet of Grass Valley, CA., led early and late to win the World of Outlaws sprint car feature at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night to close the oval’s 2015 season.

Sweet’s victory, a first career Port Royal win, came with a sweep of the podium positions by the traveling outlaws band over the local Pennsylvania Posse.

The 30-lap win was worth $10,000 for the driver of Kasey Kahne’s No. 49.

Dan Davies won the Mid Atlantic Modified feature over David Stremme to complete the first-ever show in the mid-state for the burgeoning stock car class.

The 2015 Port Royal champion, Lucas Wolfe earned the pole for the World of Outlaws feature by claiming the win in the dash. Shane Stewart started the race in second with Danny Dietrich third and Sweet in fourth.

Only one lap of the main was put in the books when Logan Wagner forced the first caution flag by sitting backwards, against traffic on the frontchute.

Wolfe chose the inside lane for the double file restart and got away from Stewart at the new green with tenth starter Brent Marks already up to third.

With five away Marks was doing his best to hold off Sweet and Daryn Pittman for the spot.

Wolfe entered the backmarkers on the tenth tour with Stewart and now Sweet and Pittman in pursuit as Marks slid backwards.

Sweet motored by Stewart for second with 11 away and then began his track down of the leader.

Sweet was clearly gaining speed as the leader tried to navigate through heavy traffic and he blistered by Wolfe for the lead in the first and second turns of the 14th tour.

In fact, Pittman came along for the ride when Sweet made the pass, relegating Wolfe to a sudden third.

At the halfway point the front trio had Stewart and seventh starter Donny Schatz now up to fifth.

The cream on this night clearly rose to the top during the mid stages of the race with Schatz getting around Wolfe for third to complete the outlaws assault on the front spots with 14 laps to go.

However what had been a flawless performance by Sweet through traffic at the front turned a bit messy with about 10 laps to go and with Pittman hot on his trail and Schatz nearly as close to him, a missed entry in the third corner allowed Pittman to zip by on the inside to take control with eight laps to go.

Pittman then threatened to get away with the win but a final caution flag, again for Logan Wagner, this time with six laps to go, changed the outcome.

Prior to the caution period, Danny Dietrich who had faded from the front early, was motoring forward, threatening to catch the top three by surprise after blasting into fourth to be lined up directly behind them.

But the slowing of the pace also halted his momentum.

Pittman selected to restart on the pole of the double file new line up with Sweet to his outside.

And the restart was exactly what Sweet wanted and needed to get back out in front.

He chased Pittman through the first and second turns before sailing to his outside through the third and fourth turns to reclaim the point with five laps remaining.

Sweet then went on to post a .455 second triumph over Pittman with Schatz 1.8 seconds behind in third.

Dietrich was fourth with Marks finishing fifth.

Sixth through 10th went to 23rd starter Dale Blaney, Greg Wilson, Stewart, Greg Hodnett and Logan Schuchart.

Sweet became the 182nd different driver to win a sprint car feature in the history of Port Royal Speedway.

The entire sprint car program was completed in some 2 hours and 50 minutes.

Fast time over the 47-car field went to Schatz with a lap of 16.199 seconds.

Heats went to Stewart, Sweet, Wolfe and Schuchart.

Wolfe won the dash while Ryan Smith took the C Main and Justin Barger claimed the B Main.

The 20-lap modified main had several caution flag periods.

Denny Perigo led the first five circuits before eighth starter Dan Davies took over to hold on for the win.

Seventh starter David Stremme took second on the seventh tour and despite a pair of restarts giving him a clear shot at the lead he was unable to get control.

Chris Arnold was third followed by Gary Long and Denny Perigo.

Twin heats went to Davies and Stremme with 17 cars in action.


Feature finishes:



World of Outlaws 410 sprints, 30 laps: 1. Brad Sweet, 2. Daryn Pittman, 3. Donny Schatz, 4. Danny Dietrich. 5. Brent Marks, 6. Dale Blaney, 7. Greg Wilson, 8. Shane Stewart, 9. Greg Hodnet, 10. Logan Schuchart, 11. Lucas Wolfe, 12. Cody Darrah, 13. Paul McMahan, 14. Doug Esh, 15. Todd Shaffer, 16. Kerry Madsen, 17. Ryan Taylor, 18. Pat Cannon, 19. Dylan Cisney, 20. Justin Barger, 21. Joey Saldana, 22. Jacob Allen, 23. David Gravel, 24. Jason Sides, 25. Michael Wagner, 26. Jason Johnson, 27. Jac Haudenschild, 28. Logan Wagner

DNQ: Joey Hershey, Trenton Shaeffer, Kyle Reinhardt, Steve Buckwalter, Tim Glatfelter, Jevon Ahner, Paige Polyak, Anthony Fiore, Mike Kuemper, Wayne Dadetto, TJ Stutts, Aaron Ott, Logan Forler, Cody Darrah, Mark Smith, Curt Stroup, Lance Dewease, Brock Zearfoss, Dustin Baney


Mid Atlantic Modifieds, 20 laps: 1. Dan Davies, 2. David Stremme, 3. Chris Arnold, 4. Gary Long, 5. Denny Perigo, 6. Brandon LaSalle, 7. Craig Ramich, 8. Adam Daniels, 9. Andy Swope, 10. Derek Deusenberry, 11. Tim Schulte, 12. Justin Milburn, 13. Mark Jones, 14. Ray McClure, 15. Rodney Morgan, 16. Alyssa Rowe

DNS: Jared Spaulding