Port Royal Champions Feted At Annual Banquet

Port Royal – The 2015 Port Royal Speedway track champions and top point finishers were honored at the annual Speedway awards banquet, held Saturday night, November 21 at the Port Royal Community Building.

Feted was the champions: Lucas Wolfe, 410 sprints; Jeff Miller, 305 sprints; Mike Lupfer, super late models; Andrew Yoder, econo late models; and Jason Zook, xtreme stocks.

All the champions received an array of laurels including gift certificates to the Juniata Valley Winery, championship rings from Foss Jewelers of Lewistown, championship jackets courtesy of Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic, granite etchings courtesy of Prayer Mountain Monuments; photo albums courtesy of WRT Speedwerx Brian Rhoads and fuel certificates from Insinger Racing Fuels.

Wolfe became the second driver in the family to notch a Port Royal sprint car title, following in his father Randy’s footsteps in 1982.

The Mechanicsburg pilot recorded two wins on his championship season, scoring an average feature finish of 5.9 in the 20 point events he contested for championship car owners John and Pee Wee Zemaitis of Tower City.

With a second place finish in the points, Port Royal’s Dylan Cisney picked up Most Improved in the class while sixth in points Ryan Taylor was honored with the Sportsmanship award. Tyler Bear was Rookie of the Year.

Mike Lupfer of Shermansdale recorded his second super late model title in a row, becoming the first driver to repeat since Scott Haus did it in 2011.

Lupfer’s average feature finish on the season was 6.6 while notching four wins on the year including three in a row as the year began.

Second in points, Mitch Hack of Mexico was voted Sportsmanship honoree while fourth in points, Trent Brenneman picked up Most Improved.

Rookie of the Year went to Andrew Yoder.

Yoder also took home the track crown in the econo late model division in a season that included a pair of victories and an average feature finish of second.

In the 10 events Yoder contested, he never finished worse than third in any of the races.

Tim Fedder picked up the Sportsmanship award in the class.

Bernheisel Racing Components, the product sponsor of both late model classes on the year gave out awards in both divisions.

Yoder received $500 as the econo late champion while second in points, Eric Irvin won the season long Hard Charger award for advancing a total of 48 spots in the 10 races he entered.

Lupfer received a cool $1,000 from Bernheisel while also pocketing Hard Charger laurels in the super lates, piling up a total of 82 advanced spots over the course of the year.

Jason Zook took home xtreme stock laurels with an average feature finish of third in the seven races contested.

Xtreme stock Sportsmanship laurels went to Charlie Bryner.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information at www.portroyalspeedway.com or by following the oval on Facebook and Twitter.