Blaney Brothers Put On Port Royal Passing Clinic In Inaugural Kauffman Classic!

Dale claims victory with Dave running from 24th to fourth in 37-car field

Moon Shine Late Model Series Kicks Off With Moon Shine Driver Mattern The Winner

35 entries launch six-race, dual-track series


PORT ROYAL, Pa. – “The Low Rider,” Dale Blaney of Hartford, Oh., scored the big win in Saturday night’s inaugural Keith Kauffman Classic sanctioned by the All Star Circuit of Champions Sprints at Port Royal Speedway.

Blaney led all 30 laps of the special event, putting on a passing clinic with the lead while his brother Dave put on a clinic of his own from the 24th starting sport before finishing a challenging fourth.

In the kickoff race for the Port Royal/Selinsgrove Speedways Moon Shine Camo Rt. 35 Dirt Late Model Challenge Series, Beavertown’s Hayes Mattern piloted the Moon Shine car itself to a storybook victory in the 25-lap affair.

Some 37 All Star sprints vied in the Kauffman Classic on Saturday with the start of the feature itself getting slowed for a three-car tangle in the third corner involving Ohio’s Andrew Palker, Kody Lehman and TJ Stutts.

Dale Blaney zipped from the second starting spot to the lead when the first lap was recorded but was again slowed on the third lap thanks to another caution period.

On the restart, seventh runner Mike Wagner got a fantastic run around the topside of the second corner and blasted around Ryan Smith for sixth before drawing alongside Dylan Cisney for fifth.

And the pair saw close quarters on the backchute end in near disaster as they hooked up near the scoreboard to careen across the track in front of the field, somehow avoiding major contact with oncoming traffic, again slowing the pace and seeing a red flag unfurl for refueling.

Leader Blaney rocketed away at the new green with fourth starter Chad Kemenah of Findlay, Oh, in pursuit but Blaney entered the backmarkers on the 11th tour with plenty of breathing room over Kemenah.

Meanwhile, older brother Dave Blaney, who had started 24th, was rocketing his way around the track as well, running up to eighth by the halfway point while using the high groove.

With 10 laps to go, Dave Blaney was still on the move, now up to sixth after getting around Lucas Wolfe and Sheldon Haudenschild while Brent Marks now raced in eighth after taking the green from the 21st spot.

Dave Blaney had more moves to make as the race wore on into the final stages, running high around the speedway to get by Ryan Smith and then with five to go he blasted around polesitter Steve Buckwalter for fourth.

That put Dale Blaney in the lead and brother Dave solidly inside the top five, albeit a half lap behind.

Another driver surging over the remaining distance was TJ Michael of West Plano, Tx., who started 19th .

Michael worked into a ninth place before the end of the race.

In victory lane, after taking his third career Port Royal victory worth $5,000, Dale Blaney reflected on veteran Keith Kauffman as Kauffman presented the inaugural Kauffman Classic trophy.

The victory for Dale Blaney was the veterans 129th career checkers with the All Star Circuit of Champions Sprints tour that ironically is the same amount of wins that race namesake Kauffman ended his career with at Port Royal Speedway, as the winningest driver in oval history.

Dale Blaney took the win over Kemanah by 5.760 seconds with Greg Hodnett following in third.

Dave Blaney was fourth and Buckwalter completed the top five.

Sixth through 10th went to Brent Marks, Ryan Smith, Sheldon Haudenschild, TJ Michael and 17th starter Blane Heimbach.

Heats went to Kemehan, Smith, Dale Blaney and TJ Stutts with Marks taking the B Main.

Buckwalter started on the pole of the feature by virtue of winning the dash.

Lucas Wolfe set fast time over the field with a lap of 17.092 seconds.

A total of 35 super late models gathered to compete in the kickoff the dual track, six race Moon Shine Camo late model series.

Aboard the Moon Shine Camo No. 9 entry, Hayes Mattern started second in the field and was leading the way over Dave Zona when the races first caution flag unfurled on the third lap.

Zona tried to challenge on the restart but could only watch as Mattern entered the rear of the field on the 14th lap.

With four laps to go in the 25 lapper, 15th starter Andy Haus pulled the move of the race on a restart to go three wide with Zona and third runner Mike Lupfer and come up with the second spot before coming after Mattern for the $2,000 victory.

Haus closed on Mattern over the final four tours but up and comer Mattern was stout enough to preserve his lead for the victory, which was the first of his career at Port Royal Speedway.

Mattern took the win by .677 seconds over point leader Haus, 12th starter Jim Yoder, Lupfer and Zona.

Sixth through 10th went to Billy Wampler, Jeff Rine, Andrew Yoder, Tony Adams and Tim Wilson.

Heats went to Zona, Mattern, Steve Campbell and Lupfer with Chad Hollenbeck taking the consolation race.

The Moon Shine Camo series’ next race is at Selinsgrove Speedway on May 21.

Stay up to date with all the latest Port Royal news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter.

PRS 2016 – Racing through a new decade with a new attitude!
Port Royal Speedway

The Only Place To See Super Sprints And Super Lates Every Saturday Night

Feature finishes:


410 sprints, 30 laps: 1. Dale Blaney, 2. Chad Kemenah, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Dave Blaney, 5. Steve Buckwalter, 6. Brent Mark, 7. Ryan Smith, 8. Sheldon Haudenschild, 9. TJ Michael, 10. Blane Heimbach, 11. Lucas Wolfe, 12. Logan Wagner, 13. Doug Esh, 14. Mark Smith, 15. Curt Stroup, 16. Cap Henry, 17. Ryan Taylor, 18. Lee Jacobs, 19. Mike Wagner, 20. Danny Holtgraver, 21. Dylan Cisney, 22. Tyler Bear, 23. Cale Grubb, 24. Tim Shaffer, 25. TJ Stutts, 26. Andrew Palker, 27. Aaron Ott.

DNQ: Brock Zearfoss, Kory Crabtree, Kraig Kinser, Caleb Helms, Caleb Armstrong, Bradley Howard, Kody Lehman, Anthony Fiore, Joe Kubiniec, Wayne Dadetto

Late models, 25 laps: 1. Hayes Mattern, 2. Andy Haus, 3. Jim Yoder, 4. Mike Lupfer, 5. Dave Zona, 6. Billy Wampler, 7. Jeff Rine, 8. Andrew Yoder, 9. Tony Adams, 10. Tim Wilson, 11. Chad Hollenbeck, 12. Nick Dickson, 13. Matt Parks, 14. Scott Flickinger, 15. Bryan Berhneisel, 16. Jeff Miller, 17. Steve Campbell, 18. Trent Brenneman, 19. Tim Smith Jr., 20. Larry Baer, 21. Steve Bailor, 22. Coleby Frye, 23. Dave Stamm, 24. Gene Knaub

DNQ: Tim Gray, Dave Brouse Jr., Austin Berry, Troy Swindell, Derrick Casner, Mike Mort, Vern Zerby, Chris Casner, Pancho Lawler, Danny Snyder, Dan Stone