Hollenbeck And Yoder Lock Together For Port Royal Late Model Thriller

Hodnett wins sprints, Fedder wins econo lates, Kepner takes xtreme stocks


PORT ROYAL, Pa. – Greg Hodnett started eighth and drove through the field to win the 25-lap 410-sprint car feature at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night to record his sixth oval checkers of the season, worth $3,200.

In the 22-lap super late model feature, a wild and thrilling finish accentuated the suspenseful event with Chad Hollenbeck stealing the victory at the finish line over Dylan Yoder.

The 18-lap econo late main was taken by Tim Fedder while Corey Kepner took the win in the 15-lap xtreme stock feature.

Second starter Doug Esh took the lead at the start of the sprint car feature over Mike Erdley before the first caution flag unfurled with two laps in, finding Aaron Ott racing third with Hodnett already up to fourth.

Hodnett drove by Ott at the new green and took second from Erdley a lap later.

Esh entered the backmarkers with the lead on the eighth tour following closely by Hodnett before another yellow flag bunched the field with 15 laps to go.

Esh tried his best to hold off Hodnett, running the top line while Hodnett worked the middle and bottom lanes but it proved to be of no use as Hodnett easily drove right through the slick to power by Esh as the pair shot onto the backchute on lap 13.

Hodnett began driving away once in control but saw his pace slowed with nine laps to go for a stopped Esh on the frontchute.

Ott, ninth starter Brent Marks and seventh starter Lucas Wolfe followed for the restart and when action resumed Wolfe howled around the top lane to make a two-car pass, first getting Marks in the first corner before overtaking Ott in the third and fourth turns.

Once into second, Wolfe tried to close in on the distance between himself and the leader but couldn’t muster a challenge, instead crossing the finish line 1.763 seconds behind at the finish.

Ott rode home third followed by Marks and Mike Wagner.

Sixth through 10th went to Ryan Taylor, Blane Heimbach, Brock Zearfoss, Curt Stroup and Dylan Cisney.

Heats went to Marks, Hodnett and Wolfe with Scott Wilson scoring the consolation.

The spectacle that was the super late model main went non-stop with polesitter Dylan Yoder leading all but the final few yards.

Chad Hollenbeck started fourth in the field and overtook Tim Smith Jr. for second on the third tour while beginning to spew smoke from the rear of his racer.

Yoder raced into the rear of the field with 12 laps to go followed by Hollenbeck and as the race wore on it seemed that Hollenbeck was getting slightly stronger despite mechanical ills while running the inside lane while Yoder began to slip just slightly while using the high line.

On several occasions, as the smoke grew heavier out of Hollenbeck’s machine, the Montrose speedster was able to get underneath Yoder in the corners only to watch as Yoder mustered just enough strength to get back out in front.

With two laps to go, Hollenbeck took a serious shot as Yoder washed up the track in the second turn but again Yoder used a slingshot move on the cushion to pull back even and then drive ahead as the pair neared the third corner.

Working heavy traffic with two cars racing for position just ahead of him, Yoder took the white flag still in command with absolutely no breathing room over Hollenbeck.

The pair set their machines into the third turn using the same lines they had worked the entire distance but this time Yoder’s drift around the top got just far enough around to allow Hollenbeck to nose out in front as the pair came onto the frontstretch.

And then contact occurred as they approached the flagstand with Yoder getting turned somewhat left into the side of Hollenbecks’ racer.

This in turn forced Hollenbeck’s machine to turn somewhat right and into Yoder’s car and nearly sideways as the pair crossed the finish line locked against one another before Yoder bounced off of Hollenbeck’s car into the first turn, spinning in front of the rest of the field.

Hollenbeck’s nose got across the finish line first and he then pulled his smoke-laden machine into the winner’s circle to claim his second oval win of the year by a shocking .137 margin that left the fans and officials speechless.

Yoder was a disappointed second followed by Smith Jr., Jeff Miller and Andy Haus.

Sixth through 10th went to Tim Wilson, Mike Lupfer, Matt Parks, Billy Wampler and Kyle Hardy.

Heats went to Trent Brenneman, Scott Flickinger and Haus.

Tim Fedder took over the lead from Derrick Garman on the fourth tour of the econo late model feature.

Fedder was never challenged the rest of the distance as he drove away to a nearly two second victory, the third of his career at the track.

Jason Nace muscled second away from Garman on the seventh tour and finished with the spot followed by Devin Hart, Todd Snook and Garman.

Heats went to Hart and Tim Krape.

The xtreme stock main event to Corey Kepner but only after early leader Bill Powell spun while leading with four laps completed.

Kepner saw Kevin Imes take over second on the final lap with Charlie Bryner finishing third followed by a surging Powell and Tyler Amtower.

Stay up to date with all the latest Port Royal news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at www.portroyalspeedway.com or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter.

Feature finishes:


410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Lucas Wolfe, 3. Aaron Ott, 4. Brent Marks, 5. Mike Wagner, 6. Ryan Taylor, 7. Blane Heimbach, 8. Brock Zearfoss, 9. Curt Stroup, 10. Dylan Cisney, 11. Mike Erdley, 12. Cale Grubb, 13. Daryl Stimeling, 14. Logan Wagner, 15. Kody Lehman, 16. Trenton Sheaffer, 17. Mike Wagner II., 18. Karl Baker, 19. Scott Wilson, 20. Joey Hershey, 21. Anthony Fiore, 22. Doug Esh, 23. Todd Berkheimer, 24. Tyler Bear

DNQ: Steve Buckwalter, Charlie Anderson

Super late models, 22 laps: 1. Chad Hollenbeck, 2. Dylan Yoder, 3. Tim Smith Jr., 4. Jeff Miller, 5. Andy Haus, 6. Tim Wilson, 7. Mike Lupfer, 8. Matt Parks, 9. Billy Wampler, 10. Kyle Hardy, 11. Dan Stone, 12. Scott Flickinger, 13. Trent Brenneman, 14. Patrick Bryner, 15. Andrew Yoder, 16. Dave Brouse Jr., 17. Ryan Walls, 18. Steve Bailor, 19. Cody Robbins, 20. Jason Davis, 21. Jeff Johnson, 22. Kody Lyter, 23. Vern Zerby

DNS: Jason Schmidt

355 econo late models, 18 laps: 1. Tim Fedder, 2. Jason Nace, 3. Devin Hart, 4. Todd Snook, 5. Derrick Garman, 6. Curt Dunn, 7. Harold Ranck, 8. Tim Krape, 9. Shaun Miller, 10. Chase Bowsman, 11. Danny Sollers

xtreme stocks, 15 laps: 1. Corey Kepner, 2. Kevin Imes, 3. Charlie Bryner, 4. Bill Powell, 5. Tyler Amtower, 6. Deron Henry, 7. Ryan Zook, 8. Kevin Dobson, 9. Brian Strawser, 10. Pete Leister, 11. Walt Peters, 12. Austin Johnson, 13. Jason Zook, 14. Darren Rice