Brock Zearfoss Wins Port Royal Sprint Car First In Flying Performance

Coleby Frye Wins Super Late Models, Tim Krape Sweeps Econo Late Twin 15s

 PORT ROYAL, Pa. – Brock Zearfoss of Jonestown scorched the Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night to notch his first career sprint car win at the historic oval, worth $3,200 while becoming the 185th driver in history to take a checkered flag at the track.

Coleby Frye of Dover ran the ragged cushion to perfection to pick up the win in the 22-lap super late model main, coming out on top in a battle with Jeff Miller and Tim Wilson.

And in twin 15-lap mains for the econo late models, Bellefonte’s Tim Krape swept the night to take over the season point lead with just two events left on the season.

Justin Cullum won the all american outlaws main.

Polesitter Tyler Bear took the lead at the start of the 25-lap sprint car main followed by Mike Erdley.

However Zearfoss was a man on a mission from the drop of the green flag, after starting in the sixth spot he blasted forward when action began.

Up to fourth at the completion of the first circuit, Zearfoss made a lightning-fast two-car pass of Logan Wagner and Erdley to zoom from fourth to second in the second turn.

Zearfoss then made quick work of leader Bear, running down his lead with five away before darting underneath him in the third corner to take a command he would never leave in doubt.

Also blasting forward from the start was point leader Doug Esh, who was racing third behind Bear when the red flag unfurled on the ninth tour.

The slow car of James Pryde had spun in the third turn and Esh squeezed between he and the outside wall although making contact but just as he cleared the car, fourth runner Ryan Taylor clipped Pryde and flipped to stop the race.

Erdley ducked under Bear on the restart to briefly claim second before Bear muscled back into the spot.

Zearfoss had a 4.9 second lead with 11 laps to go over Bear, Logan Wagner, Dylan Cisney and Erdley.

A second red flag unfurled with six laps to go when Curt Stroup turned over on the backchute, wiping out a 5.280 second advantage held by Zearfoss.

And Zearfoss then blasted away when action resumed as Esh again caught everyone’s attention by entering the top five after restarting at the rear due to his brush with the fence earlier.

Zearfoss took the win by 1.938 seconds over Logan Wagner, Dylan Cisney, Blane Heimbach and Esh.

Sixth through 10th went to Bear, Mike Wagner, Erdley, Wayne Dadetto and Rick Lafferty.

Heats went to Taylor, Heimbach and Esh.

Second starter Jeff Miller took the lead when action started in the super late model main followed by Scott Flickinger but sixth starter Coleby Frye had intentions for the win.

He was up to third behind Miller and Tim Smith Jr. on the third lap before taking second with four laps away.

Leader Miller entered the rear of the field on the 11th tour with Frye ripping around the top side, pitching his car around the high cushion to steadily reel in the pacesetter.

It was with six laps to go in the 22-lapper that Frye finally pulled off the pass for the lead and win before the races only caution flag dropped with three laps to go.

Frye blasted away at the new green to pick up the win over Miller by 3.646 seconds.

The race for second was a close one to the finish with Miller taking the spot by just four one-thousandths of a second ahead of Tim Wilson.

Andy Haus rode home fourth followed by Trent Brenneman.

Sixth through 10th went to Tim Smith Jr., Mike Lupfer, Dave Brouse Jr., Waylon Wagner and Jerry Bard.

Heats went to Wilson, Brenneman and Flickinger.

Todd Snook led the first two laps of the first 15-lap econo late model main before fourth starter Tim Krape took over for the win.

Snook trailed in second for the remainder of the event.

Krape won by 3.930 seconds with Ryan Walls finishing third, Devin Hart in fourth and Eric Summey in fifth.

Eric Summey led from the start until lap 12 of the second econo late model main when Krape again drove into the lead.

Krapes line was high, wide and handsome during both econo mains to pocket the victories.

Summey proved challenging to catch and pass but once in front Krape pulled away for the second win.

Summey was second followed by Todd Snook, Devin Hart and Tim Fedder.

Heats went to Hart and Harold Ranck Jr.

Justin Cullum won the all American outlaws main over Bryan Green, Jim Minter, Fred Cullum and Gary Moreland.

Stay up to date with all the latest Port Royal news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter.


Feature finishes:


410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Brock Zearfoss, 2. Logan Wagner, 3. Dylan Cisney, 4. Blane Heimbach, 5. Doug Esh, 6. Tyler Bear, 7. Mike Wagner, 8. Mike Erdley, 9. Wayne Dadetto, 10. Rick Lafferty, 11. Trenton Schaeffer, 12. Daryl Stimeling, 13. Kody Lehman, 14. Joey Hershey, 15. Mike Wagner II., 16. Karl Baker, 17. Ed Aiken, 18. Curt Stroup, 19. Jared Esh, 20. Ryan Taylor, 21. Dustin Baney, 22. James Pryde, 23. Vince Snyder

DNS: Cory Thornton



Late models, 22 laps: 1. Coleby Frye, 2. Jeff Miller, 3. Tim Wilson, 4. Andy Haus, 5. Trent Brenneman, 6. Tim Smith Jr., 7. Mike Lupfer, 8. Dave Brouse Jr., 9. Waylon Wagner, 10. Jerry Bard, 11. Scott Flickinger, 12. Billy Wampler, 13. Andrew Yoder, 14. Jason Schmidt, 15. Patrick Bryner, 16. Dave Brouse Sr., 17. Lary Baer, 18. Jared Fulkroad, 19. Steve Bailor, 20. Derrick Casner, 21. Kody Lyter, 22. Jeff Johnson



Econo late models, 15 laps, feature 1: 1. Tim Krape, 2. Todd Snook, 3. Ryan Walls, 4. Devin Hart, 5. Eric Summey, 6. Tim Fedder, 7. Jed Latsha, 8. Troy Miller, 9. Tom Krape, 10. Jason Nace, 11. Curt Dunn, 12. Corey Kepner, 13. Chase Bowsman, 14. Jason Peachey, 15. Harold Ranck Jr., 16. Jason Davis, 17. Garrett Gray, 18. Chase Billett

DNS: Derrick Garman, Shaun Miller


Econo late models, 15 laps, feature 2: 1. Tim Krape, 2. Summey, 3. Snook, 4. Hart, 5. Fedder, 6. Latsha, 7. Walls, 8. Nace, 9. Kepner, 10. Peachey, 11. Dunn, 12. T. Miller, 13. Tom Krape, 14. Billett, 15. Davis

DNS: Bowsman, Ranck, Gray, Garman, S. Miller