Port Royal Open Wheel Madness For 410, URC 360 & 305 Sprints Caps Season Sat.

Oct. 22 show offers big three-division sprint show along with food, craft & flea market!

PORT ROYAL, Pa. – Port Royal Speedway will close its season this Saturday, October 22 at 3 pm when it hosts Open Wheel Madness, featuring 410, URC 360 and 305 sprint cars.

The 410 sprints will compete in a 30-lap main paying $5,000 to win and $400 to start while the URC Sprints race for $2,200 to win and the RaceSaver 305 sprints vie for $1,500 to win in the rescheduled Keystone RaceSaver Challenge.


The season finale Open Wheel Madness program will be part of Port Royal Foliage Days at the speedway and fairgrounds.

Fans can visit the weekend-long food, craft and flea market held around the speedway on Saturday before taking in the races.

Adult general admission for the big program is $20 with students ages 12 – 18 admitted for $7.

Pit gates will open at Noon with general admission gates opening at 1:30 pm.

The Foliage Days parade through the center of Port Royal will block Rt. 75 entry into the town of Port Royal briefly between approximately 1 and 1:30 pm.

Visitors during that time should expect a short delay while the parade proceeds.

The October 22 finale will be the second show of the year at the track for the URC 360 sprint cars.

Mark Smith took the win in the first show held on May 29.

A large field of sprint cars overall is expected as the Port Royal season finale is one of the very last sprint car shows of the season in the region.

The Keystone RaceSaver 305 Sprint Challenge boasts a total purse of some $15,000 for the division. The event was added to the October 22 race date after falling victim to rain on October 8.

The 305 race will also crown the 2016 Port Royal River Valley Builders 305 Sprint Series champion.

Full complements of heats will be staged for all three sprint car classes before their respective features. There will be no time trials for any of the divisions.

Greg Hodnett leads all sprint car drivers in the W column at the track this season, having scored seven checkered flags. Other winners have been: Lance Dewease, 3; Brent Marks, 2; and Dale Blaney, Steve Buckwalter, Bryan Clauson, Danny Dietrich, Doug Esh, Blane Heimbach, Joey Hershey, Aaron Ott, Logan Schuchart, Stevie Smith, Lucas Wolfe and Brock Zearfoss, 1 each.

Esh is the reigning sprint car track champion. Schuchart is the most recent winner having scored a World of Outlaws victory on October 15.

Stay up to date with all the latest Port Royal news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at www.portroyalspeedway.com or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter