ULMS Butch Renninger Memorial on Tap as 165TH Juniata County Fair Kicks Off This Weekend

By- Justin Snyder


PORT ROYAL, Pa- Port Royal Speedway returns Saturday night to kick off the 165th annual Juniata County Fair with the 16th running of the Butch Renninger Memorial featuting the ULMS Late Models, the Weikert’s Livestock 410 Sprint Cars, the Selinsgrove Ford Limited Late Models and the Juniata Junction Xtreme Stocks.


The ULMS Late Model race will pay $4333 to the winner and will be 33 laps in distance. Driver’s will also get $333 to start with a grand total purse of $18,538 being offered for the River Valley Builders series and ULMS drivers.


Renninger was a former three-time track champion and the owner of 41 career victories at the Juniata County oval. He also served diligently on the board of directors of the speedway for decades and oversaw track preparation and concessions during that time period.


Heat races will pay $333 to win and $100 for second and third. There will also be a $33 bonus to the top three finishers of the B-Main. All of these are courtesy of Ted Reitz.

Other contingency awards will includes $100 Super Late Model Hard Luck award courtesy of Gullwing Aviation, LLC, $333 Super Late Model Fast Time Award courtesy of Barron’s Racing Engines, $133 Bonus awarded to the highest finishing Port Royal regular courtesy of Brown’s Automotive and a minimum $733 Tilton Hilton Hard Charger Award in memory of Glenn Winnick. All awards are a minimum amount and subject to change.


Past winners of the event are Steve Campbell, Scott Huas, Mitch Hack, Jere Wierman, Tim Wilson, Waylon Wagner, Jeff Rine (2), Gregg Satterlee (2), Jason Covert, Justin Kahn, Dylan Yoder and most recently Tyler Bare.


Entering competition, Dylan Yoder holds a firm 350 point advantage in the track point standings over Andy Haus, with Jeff Rine (-570), Nick Dickson (-820) and Mike Lupfer (-1050) rounding out the top five.


The Selinsgrove Limited Late Models will also be racing for various contingency awards to include $100 to heat race winners courtesy of Garman Concrete & Construction, and $33 for second and $25 for third courtesy of Barron’s Racing Engines and Gullwing Aviation LLC. There will be a $100 Limited Late Model Hard Luck award courtesy of BDR Products, $100 Hard Charger Award courtesy of Garman Concrete & Construction and $33 to the highest finishing Juniata County driver courtesy of Pellman Trade.


Andrew Yoder enters the night with a 125 point standings advantage over Todd Snook and is the most recent winner at the speedway for the division. Devin Hart (-145), Kenny Yoder (-235) and Derrick Garman (-280) make up the top five.


This will also be a big night for the Juniata Junction Xtreme Stocks, as they will be competing for various contingency prizes as well.


There will be $33 presented via a Hard Luck award courtesy of Brown’s Automotive, $33 Hard Charger Award courtesy of Ryan Pellman, $33 to the car running last on lap 12 courtesy of Mark Bell in memory of Butch Renninger and Dave Kepner along with additional awards to be presented via Mike Brackbill/Juniata Junction throughout the night.


Brad Mitch holds a 25 point advantage in the series standings over Pete Leister, with Chuck Bryner (-120), Walt Peters (-135) and Bill Cooper (-220) rounding out the top five. Dustin Hoffman was the most recent winner in the series.


All three division feature winners will receive subs courtesy of Harshbarger’s Sub N Malt and Trophy Checks courtesy of Abel Signs, J.R. Toner.

And as customary, the Weikert’s Livestock 410 Sprint Car Series will be competing as well in their regular  25-lap program. Last week saw Jeff Miller win in a nail biter over Anthony Macri to pick up his third victory of 2019 in his rookie season.


Logan Wagner overcame a warm-up crash to salvage a top five and currently leads the series stabdings by a whopping 440 points over Dylan Cisney, with AJ Flick (-670), TJ Stutts (-730) and Jared Esh (-915) rounding out the top five.


All four divisions will be racing for full points. And if the kids don’t get enough fun during the fair, there will be a candy scramble in the infield at 6:30.


Adult Grandstand Prices will be $22, Students 12-18 will be $10 with Pit Admission $35. The rain date for the event is set for Sept. 6 if need be.


All gates will open at 3:30 with a special start time of 6:30.


There will also be a pre-race show under the bleachers with the Turn 5 Turnaround guys where several drivers will be on hand for interviews. Time and driver roster to be announced.


This of course, is all a pre-curser to the annual Labor Day Classic on Monday. The 67th running of the race, presented by Foss Jewelers, serves as a Fan Appreciation Day and features the Weikert’s Livestock 410 Sprint Cars, the Selinsgrove Ford Limited Late Models and the 4 Cylinder Pro Stocks.


The Sprint Cars will be racing for $4000 and it will be a draw show with a start time of 1pm and gates opening at 10:00 am. General Admission grandstand seating will be $12, Students 12-18 $5, with th Pit Admission being $30. As customary, the infield will be open to spectators for all ages at $5.


Last year, weekend invade Aaron Reutzel picked up the victory in the race.


This will also be a highlight night for the 4-cylinders with the winner taking home $300. Their pruse will be as follows 1. $300 2. $200 3. $175 4. $150 5. $125 6. $100 7. $75 8. $70 9. $65 10. $50 11- Field $30.


Fair Admission for all eight day will be FREE and parking for both nights of racing will be FREE everywhere except at the Elementary School. Be advised there is parking restrictions inside the fairgrounds beginning SATURDAY AS WELL.


Please check out www.portroyalspeedway.com and visit them on all social media platforms for more news and updates leading up this weekends events!