Anthony Macri Drives From 19th to Score Record $60,000 Tuscarora 50 with All Stars

By Justin Snyder

Port Royal Speedway- PORT ROYAL, PA-  (September 11, 2022)- As every season has passed and Anthony Macri has progressed as a driver, the common question amongst racing fans each season at Port Royal has always been the same thing.

“When is he going to win the Tuscarora 50?”

Well, it finally happened. On a night that saw ‘The Concrete Kid’ fight adversity in the form of a wreck in his heat race following setting $1200 Packer’s Concessions, LLC. and Tedd Reitz Quick time, Macri stormed forward from the 19th starting position to claim the $60,000 prize and the 55th Annual Tuscarora 50 presented by Ramsey’s Car Wash and Garage and presented by Packer’s Concessions trophy.


“Man, I don’t know what to say…I’m pretty speechless right now,” said Macri. “What happened there in the heat with Brian Brown was just a racing deal. I was actually crying and acting like a little girl in the lounge thinking that I threw the whole night away.


“These guys never gave up on me, and I figured I wouldn’t give up on them in the feature. I kind of lit a fire under my butt and just tried to pass as many cars as I could.”


Cale Thomas and Danny Dietrich led the field of 26 410 Sprint Cars to the green flag and it was Dietrich getting the initial jump on the field off the outside of turn two to lead the opening lap. Thomas, Bill Balog, Brent Marks, and Gio Scelzi settled into the rest of the top five.


12th-place starter Gerard McIntyre Jr. was the man on the move during the opening five laps, as he moved into the fifth position with 45 laps remaining in the 50-lap spectacular. However, 10th-place starter Cory Eliason came to a slow on the backstretch to bring out the caution and halt momentum.


When the field returned to green, Marks started to make his move as he got by Balog for the final podium position. Eighth-place starter Logan Wagner also cracked the top five for the first time as well, before giving the spot back to McIntyre.


McIntyre continued his Cinderella run to the front  of the pack as he moved into 10th with 40 laps remaining, while Macri first made himself known to fans and competitors as he cracked the top ten on the same lap.


Over the next four laps, Marks moved past both McIntyre and Thomas for the runner-up spot, while McIntyre and Wagner also got by Thomas for third and fourth respectively. With two laps remaining before the planned lap 20 break, the leaders were all under a blanket.


Marks attempted to pass Dietrich for the top spot to hold the point at the break, by ultimately Dietrich held on before the caution flag flew. Marks, McIntyre, Wagner, Justin Whittall, Thomas, Macri, Lance Dewease, Balog and Gio Scelzi rounded out the top ten.


Following a 10 minute stoppage for adjustments and the ability to change a tire, the field returned to green flag action and it was again Dietrich holding court up front. Meanwhile, behind him it was Wagner making waves as he went fourth to second through the middle of turns one and two to grab the runner-up spot.


Marks briefly took the spot back coming to the line, but Wagner took charge the following lap and set his sights on Dietrich in attempt to earn his second consecutive Tuscarora 50 title.

It only took five laps for Wagner to power his way to the front of the field, as he capitalized on a minor slip up by Dietrich to take the point and quickly opened things up. Within two laps Wagner had approached the tail end of the field and had lapped traffic to maneuver.


However, an ugly wreck between Dylan Cisney, Freddie Rahmer and Zeb Wise brought out the red flag. Cisney’s car engulfed in flames and it was both Wagner and Dietrich getting out of their car and coming to Cisney’s aid, along with the track fire crew, to ensure the fire was put out. All drivers would walk away safely, but not return to the field.


The restart proved beneficial to Marks as he got around Dietrich for the runner-up spot, while Macri cracked the top five for the first time of the night with 20 laps to go. It only took two more laps for Macri to get by Mcintyre for fourth, while Dietrich got back by Marks for the runner-up spot.


With 14 laps remaining Macri cruised around Marks for the final podium spot and two laps later he got by Dietrich for second. He set his sights on Wagner up front and was cutting into his lead, but the caution flew with 10 laps to go for a slowing Tyler Reeser in turn four.


Only ten laps separated Wagner from capping off another track championship season with a $60,000 payday, but Macri had other ideas. When the field went back to green, it only took three turn’s for Dillsburg, Pa. ace to slide by Wagner for the top spot and from there it was all smooth sailing.


Marks got by Dietrich for third on the same lap and one lap later he dispatched of Wagner for second. Dietrich would follow suit for the final podium spot, but everyone was living in Macri’s fairytale run to the front as he cruised home to the checkered flag and the record $60,000 payday.


The win was Macri’s fifth in the last six All Star Circuit of Champions sanctioned events at Port Royal and brought the fans to their feet in a history making moment. He was joined by sponsors, Jim and Sandy Kline, in victory lane as well. It was the Kline’s who earlier in the week announced with the track promotional team that they were kicking in an additional $5000 to up the winner’s share form $55,000 to $60,000.


Marks and Dietrich rounded out the podium, followed by Justin Whittall and Wagner. Lance Dewease, Brian Brown, McIntyre, Thomas and Balog rounded out the top ten. Macri earned the $500 Valley Supply Hard Charger award, while Kyle Moody scored the $1000 Warrior Award presented by J&S Classics with a random draw of 17. Moody capitalized on last season’s win in the non-qualifier feature to score a spot in the field and the additional money.


Sye Lynch scored the $2000 non-qualifier victory this season after using a late race pass of Jeff Halligan in turn’s three and four through the middle. The win guarantees Lynch a spot in next season’s Tuscarora 50 and was essentially a $4000 to win event with next year’s race guaranteeing at least $2000 to start.


Tuscarora 50 Results- A-main (50 Laps)


39M-Anthony Macri [19]; 2. 19M-Brent Marks [5]; 3. 48-Danny Dietrich [2]; 4. 67-Justin Whittall [7]; 5. 1-Logan Wagner [8]; 6. 69K-Lance Dewease [20]; 7. 21-Brian Brown [9]; 8. 33M-Gerard McIntyre [12]; 9. 49X-Cale Thomas [1]; 10. 17B-Bill Balog [3]; 11. 7BC-Tyler Courtney [22]; 12. 13-Justin Peck [15]; 13. 24-Rico Abreu [6]; 14. 55W-Mike Wagner [26]; 15. 12-Blane Heimbach [17]; 16. 18-Gio Scelzi [4]; 17. 99M-Kyle Moody [25]; 18. 3-Ayrton Gennetten [18]; 19. 9-Kasey Kahne [16]; 20. 5W-Lucas Wolfe [23]; 21. 17-Tyler Reeser [13]; 22. 39-Chase Dietz [11]; 23. 8-Freddie Rahmer [24]; 24. 5-Dylan Cisney [21]; 25. 26-Zeb Wise [14]; 26. 11-Cory Eliason [10]

Leaders: Danny Dietrich (27), Logan Wagner (28-41), Anthony Macri (42-50)


Non-Qualifiers Feature (20 Laps)


42-Sye Lynch [2]; 2. 45-Jeff Halligan [1]; 3. 1M-Landon Myers [5]; 4. 19-Chris Windom [4]; 5. 33W-Michael Walter [3]; 6. 6-Ryan Smith [7]; 7. 35-Zach Hampton [14]; 8. 11T-TJ Stutts [11]; 9. 17X-Steve Buckwalter [10]; 10. 91-Kyle Reinhardt [9]; 11. 11P-Niki Young [23]; 12. 11A-Austin Bishop [12]; 13. 12S-Brent Shearer [20]; 14. 97-Brie Hershey [21]; 15. 99-Devin Adams [22]; 16. 2C-Cory Thornton [25]; 17. 36D-Devin Brenneman [24]; 18. 73-Scotty Thiel [6]; 19. 77-Ryan Taylor [16]; 20. 12J-Bill Jones Jr [27]; 21. 12w-Troy Fraker [26]; 22. 14T-Tyler Walton [18]; 23. 55T-McKenna Haase [15]; 24. 8S-Trenton Sheaffer [17]